Contact Us

If you would like to get in touch, please provide us with your contact details and inquiry by submitting our online form and we shall endeavour to respond shortly.

Alternatively, if you would like to speak with us directly, our telephone number can be found on our contact page.

Thank you!

St Pancrace
24530
France

0033 (0)553058680

A family run Sanctuary for UK retired Police Horses in France.  Saving just one horse will not change the world but surely it will change the world for that one horse

10338593_448470745287218_4344780240732712258_o.jpg

Testimonials

We greatly enjoy being able to welcome visitors, whether they're coming to spend an afternoon at one of our Open Days, or attending one of our many events.  It's really important to us that everyone has a pleasant experience and we are always appreciative of the feedback that we receive.  

PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR OUR LATEST REVIEWS

 

Reviews from tripadvisor - we are so lucky that people care enough to write reviews 

 

 

“Open afternoon”

Reviewed 31 May 2015

A wonderful afternoon with a warm welcome from Roland, Alison and their family. An informative film giving the background of the horses during their working lives was followed by a tour of the stables where we were introduced to all the wonderful horses who have certainly earned their retirement in this beautiful part of France. Roland described the character of each horse and how they ended up in France. They are very lucky to be looked after by such a dedicated team of people. Then the most delicious tea and cakes a I have ever tasted served up by the family in the beautiful countryside.

Visited May 2015

______________________________________________________________________________________________

“Lovely Visit and Highly Recommended”

Reviewed 30 May 2015

On a family visit to the Dordogne we decided on a visit the Brantome Police Horses and Friends as our grandson is horse mad. We had a wonderful afternoon. After being warmly welcomed we had an informative and interesting presentation on the life of a Police Horse. This was an excellent start as it made us more aware of their lives before we met these gentle and beautiful creatures and heard their individual stories. All 6 children in our party were all completely captivated and loved being able to stroke and talk to the horses. Afternoon tea was delicious and rounded off a more than enjoyable afternoon. Thank you.

Visited May 2015

_______________________________________________________________________________

“Amazing afternoon”

Reviewed 29 May 2015   NEW

This was our second visit to see the retired Police horses and it was even better than the first time! We were warmly welcomed by Roland and family and were given an excellent presentation about the life of the Police horse prior to meeting "the old boys" themselves. Each horse was introduced and his story told in a thoughtful way. A fabulous cream tea on the lawn followed - all included in entrance contribution.

The horses, stables and grounds are very well looked after and the visit is well organised to make your visit a pleasant and comfortable experience. A lovely gift shop too. This was the highlight of our visit to the Dordogne this year. We hope to return soon. This is a great afternoon out for those who love animals or who appreciate what these magnificent creatures have done for us. If you don't like horses you could find yourself liking them after a visit here as they are so gentle - or go for the surroundings and tea! 

I can't speak highly enough of this charity. They are doing a fantastic job and your visit will help to support these very deserving old chaps. Give them a call and plan a visit!!!

Visited May 2015

_______________________________________________________________________________

“Wonderful place to visit”

Reviewed 27 May 2015NEW

What a wonderful place to visit. Everyone is welcoming and informed and always happy to answer any questions. The horses are so well looked after and they deserve it after all they have been through it's wonderful to see them in such a relaxed environment. 
The cream tea was delicious, and a special thank you for providing the birthday cake for our son.
Highly recommended even if you are not a horse lover, just for the setting and cream tea.

Visited May 2015

_______________________________________________________________________________

"Excellent afternoon out!"

Reviewed - 20 May 2015

We had heard a lot about BPH and today was our first visit.  There was a warm welcome, followed by an informative video of the horses training and then at work in the Police.  This was followed by a walk around the yard with some information about a number of the horses and a chance to stroke and hug them.  Then followed the lovely tea/coffee and cakes.  Well worth €10, I will be back next week with my family from the UK.  There is even a small gift shop, with lots of lovely trinkets.  Take Polo Mints for the horses, they love them!

Visited - May 2015


"Great place to visit"

Reviewed - 19 May 2015

This is a really good place for a lovely cream tea and a great day out.  We stayed in the gite and it has everything you need, well thought out and beautifully furnished.  We would definitely stay again.

Visited - May 2015


"A fabulous relaxed and charming place"

Reviewed - 16 May 2015

This is a real find.  We have just spent two wonderful nights in the gite, which is absolutely charming and fully equipped for one's needs.  The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated and furnished to a very high standard.  The business is family run and their hospitality was fantastic, nothing was too much bother.  We had dinner on our last evening, which was delicious and beautifully presented.  The horses and paddocks were in very good condition and the whole place was very professionally run, with a lovely relaxed atmosphere.  We would definitely recommend this.

Visited - May 2015


"Amazing afternoon"

Reviewed - 15 May 2015

I visited the ex UK Police horses in the beautiful Dordogne countryside.  What a fantastic afternoon; we had an escorted tour around the stables and were given an insight into each one's working life with the Police force.  My personal favourite was Lewis, a gentle giant, who adored all the attention.  It is a family run charity and funds collected on the day, pay for the care of these magnificent horses.  The afternoon ended with yummy cream tea, with second helpings of fabulous cakes and scones if desired.  It was a wonderful afternoon, very informative and all done in a really relaxed and friendly manor, even the youngest family members chatted to us all and we were made to feel very welcome.  Would definitely visit again next time I'm in France.  The experience was worth every penny and it is such a worthy cause.

Visited - May 2015


"Highly recommended"

Reviewed - 14 May 2015

We went to see the horses and were not disappointed!  Beautiful animals kept in a very caring environment.
We enjoyed the informative talk and video presentation before meeting the horses.  When we were taken to meet them and were given a brief history of each one.
The facility is run by a very caring family and the visit was thoroughly convivial in wonderful surroundings!
We enjoyed the cream teas enormously!!!  The charge for the visit would have been good value for this alone!  We will definitely go again.

Visited - May 2015


"Fantastic location, warm welcome with  beautiful horses and other animals"

Reviewed - 14 May 2015

Fabulous experience with great information about the family run charity.  The video footage showed some of the retired horses working and gave a real insight into the lives that had lead and how they served as part of the UK police force.
We were made to feel extremely welcome, the fact that you can spend as much time as you like with the animals was great.  Everyone was encouraged to have a hug and a pat, even people who may have felt a little nervous by the size of these magnificent horses.
The gift shop is stocked with beautiful items and I mustn't forget to mention the fantastic refreshments provided on the lawn, all homemade cakes and scones with the option of as many helpings as you could manage!
The whole atmosphere is relaxed and calm, with chickens, dogs and cats mingling with the visitors too.  The beautiful miniature donkeys were so cute, quite a contrast to the large police horses and I'm sure all ages would enjoy the experience.  Will definitely be making a few visits this year.

Visited - May 2015


Must see

Reviewed - 8 November 2014

We are fortunate enough to live within an hour of Brantome and have visited Brantome Police Horses on a number of occasions. We love it. The horses are fantastic and Roland and his family, who run the sanctuary, are totally dedicated to the cause.
Try one of the English Cream teas if you are here in the warmer months, but either way, please visit, it is a MUST SEE!

Visited - November 2014


“Visit the retired police horses in France to thank them for keeping you safe in the UK”

Reviewed - 19 October 2014

I have visited the Brantome horses several times and have to say, Alison and Roland always welcome you to their home. The horses are huge, but very gentle and love a cuddle and a polo! The family work hard to keep the horses well fed and looked after in their retirement. All the horses have sad stories to their previous life in the police force and it is a credit to the family how they have given up their life to care for them.
The tour is informative and informal, followed by a fantastic cream tea (all baked and prepared by Debbie and Alison).
I feel the person who wrote the review below has totaly missed the point! It is a family home who have given their life to look after these magnificant animals, and any money raised goes towards their welfare. If you're in the region please visit.

Visited - April 2014


Excellent horse sanctuary good access for wheel chair

Reviewed - 18 October 2014

This was an excellent place to visit. I am nervous of horses but I was happy to stroke these beautiful gentle giants.
The visit started with a talk and slide show. This raised some good points about why the UK uses horses in conflict.
Then you got the opportunity to see some of the horses and to pet them which for me allayed some of my concerns.
There were also some adorable donkeys and dogs.
Finally there was a fantastic afternoon tea with scones, clotted cream (a rare thing in France) and homemade cakes.
For 10 euros per person this was well worth the visit.

Visited - October 2014


“If you love horses, you'll love this horse sanctuary."

Reviewed - 14 October 2014

Brantome Police Horses was featured in a television series, regarding the number of Brits living in the region, earning it the title of Dordogneshire'. The horses have been retired from the Metropolitan and Avon and Somerset forces and are now enjoying the freedom and sanctuary of this gorgeous area of France, where they are generously cared for by the Phillips family. After a short introductory film, visitors are given a guided tour, given a full history of the horses and finally, are treated to the most scrumptious cream tea. Whilst there isn't a set entrance fee for the visitor, donations are expected and such is the respect for what the family are doing, gladly given. We are now 'Friends' of the Sanctuary and will continue to support them. Personally, I'd go back tomorrow just for that cream tea - Wow! Forgot to mention that they have a Gite for rental and an excellent gift shop.

Visited - August 2014


“wonderful rescue centre”

Reviewed - 7 October 2014

Who would have imagined that some of the UK's police horses would retire to the Dordogne. Some are old, some have been injured, but here they are in excellent condition on a farm in the countryside with other rescue animals, including donkeys. The tour begins with an, at times, emotional film about how it all began and finishes with a Devon cream tea! In between, visitors are shown the animals and can pet and pat those in the stables. Others are out in the paddocks. We are going back next year!

Visited - July 2014


“I urge you to visit this wonderful spot ...”

Reviewed - 6 October 2014

I stayed for a week in the wonderful gite (Ma Petite Maison Francaise) at La Grange in 2013 and have kept in touch with Alison and Roland since then, because I was so moved by what they do and how hard they work for these wonderful, deserving animals. I know from their newsletters that since my visit, they have worked tirelessly to provide more events and more attractions - I don't know how they find the energy! I have been unable to return this year because of moving house, but am determined to go back in 2015. The animals all have fascinating histories, the setting is idyllic and the family so welcoming. I really urge anyone visiting the area, whether for a day or a stay in the gite (the proceeds from which go directly to the horses), to take the opportunity to enjoy the company of both the family, the horses and all the other animals at La Grange.

Visited - November 2013


“Retired Police horses in the Dordogne, plus excellent cream teas"

Reviewed - 6 October 2014

During our annual visits to France, we always try and visit the Brantome Police Horses, such is the appeal of the concept, which is fairly unique. Roland and Alison Phillips and their family are excellent hosts and their dedication is wonderful to experience. They run a happy home for police horses from the UK who have become traumatised - principally from involvements in riots and civil disorders.

They run the venue as a charity and they rely on donations to help with the upkeep and welfare of the 30-plus horses in their care. As Roland points out to visitors, when Police horses retire, they don't get a pension - and all they do get is a one-way ticket to either the knacker's yard or to a good home. The Police authorities have no further interest in their welfare after they leave the Police service.

Even someone who is not a 'horsey person' cannot fail to enjoy the contact with the horses who are so big, yet gentle, and they love to be stroked. Each time we visit, Roland's team have added extra facilities, of which he is rightly proud - and its good to see them.

In addition to the horses, you get to see dogs, cats, donkeys, goats and sheep - all of whom are part of the family.

Visits are informative and friendly with questions welcome. They end with a superb Cream Tea which exceeds the quality of those usually found in the UK and the Philips family mingle with the guests and chat to them.

For an afternoon out with a difference, a visit to the venue between Brantome and Nontron, in beautiful countryside, a few kilometres north of Brantome is a recommended experience. We have become 'Friends of The Brantome Horses' and we get much pleasure from contributing towards the annual budget - which gets bigger every year with vets' bills, feed, improvements etc.

Our only disappointment is that we don't have a similar place in our area which we could visit and support.

An added attraction is the Gite, which is rented to provide funds for the charity. If you like to wake up and see horses in the fields outside your bedroom window, this is the place for you.

Peter and Linda, Eastbourne, East Sussex

Visited - June 2014


Better and better.

Reviewed - 5 October 2014

I recently made my third visit to the sanctuary and the experience has improved on each time I have visited. The "extras" that help to fund the establishment, (such as the gift shop, the photo exhibitions and the delicious cream teas) are interesting and good value, but for me, the chief delight is access to the horses, who seem so glad to have human contact. I'll be visiting again, without a doubt, especially when we have guests who would appreciate the video presentation.

Visited - July 2014


What a great place!

Reviewed - 5 October 2014

Afternoon teas are brilliant, the setting is wonderful and the horses are gentle giants all waiting for a hug.


Unique, friendly and too good to miss.

Reviewed - 1 October 2014

This stable/farm is run by the Philips family in the Dordogne and provides a happy home for police horses from the UK, who have become traumatised - principally from involvements in riots and the like.

The afternoon starts with a video presentation, followed by a visit to the horses (as well as dogs, cats, donkeys, goats, sheep etc.)

The visit is informative and friendly. All questions are welcome and contact with the horses is encouraged - although understandably the horses cannot be ridden.

At the end of the visit a real Cream Tea is served, during which the Philips family continue to answer your questions.

You feel very welcome and the experience is unique.

Visited - September 2014


What a great place!

Reviewed - 27 September 2014

My wife and I visited while on holiday in the area. It was really good. Roland and his family have taken on a very demanding, but almost certainly very rewarding, lifestyle. It was a humbling (and quite surreal) experience to be stood next to and hugging and feeding Polo mints to this huge, but totally placid, police horse, that had been a TV star (for all the wrong reasons) during those awful days and nights in Tottenham during the riots of 2011. All the ex-police horses and the other animals there were amazing. And as for our scones and cream tea and cakes.....well, just so yummy. Thank you so much Roland and Alison. By the way, in response to a previous reviewer who thought the visit was disorganised and not "value for money" - for goodness sake, this is an animal charity run by a family from their own home, not an Andrew Lloyd Webber musical!!!

Visited - September 2014


“Tranquil Retirement”

Reviewed - 18 September 2014

Visiting Brantome Police Horses was a wonderful afternoon, spent learning from Roland about the history of the police horse and the history of his and Alison's residents. It was an emotional but enlightening talk, followed by meeting each horse and hearing their own story. We were warned we may get mugged if we had mints in our pockets, but myself and my husband escaped this fate, only later willingly giving carrots to each of the horses.
Following on from meeting the horses, we enjoyed a lovely tea on the lawn with a choice of scones, jam and clotted cream or a selection of freshly baked cakes or both!
There is also a little gift shop, full of lovely bits to buy and take home as a reminder.
The cost was a mere €10 each, with all proceeds going directly to the feeding and care of the horses.
A great afternoon, highly recommend, with a feel good factor of giving to a great charity

Visited - September 2014



“A must if you are visiting Dordogne”

 


"Wonderful afternoon out for all the family”

Reviewed - 18 September 2014

Arrived at the picture perfect location having followed the directions from the website. We planned our visit to coincide with our wedding anniversary, as my hubby was a policeman, so we felt an affinity with these horses. 

We were warmly welcomed and the afternoon started with an informative film and talk. Even though my husband had been in the Met, both of us had never really thought about how horses coped and the aftermath of having to deal with certain situations.

We then went to the stables to meet the stars of the afternoon. We heard each of their stories and the affection between the horses and the people working there was evident. 

After spending time with these beautiful animals we went to enjoy the best cup of tea we have had since leaving the UK and the homemade cakes. So tasty my hubby had seconds of both. Roland and Alison circulated and were keen to make sure that everyone was enjoying their afternoon and to answer questions. A lovely touch was that on booking I had mentioned it was our anniversary and they came over to offer their congratulations. A special mention must go to Linsay, one of the tireless volunteers, who chatted and encouraged a nervous me to feed the horses some carrots.

All in all this was a wonderful place to visit. I cannot wait to visit again.


“afternoon tea”

Reviewed - 17 September 2014

We had a wonderful afternoon, the film we watched and the commentary was so interesting, we saw the horses, which were so friendly and calm, it was as if they knew they had been saved and were now safe and loved. We will definitely visit again. I'm sure our family and friends would enjoy it.

Visited - September 2014


“An interesting and most enjoyable way to spend an afternoon”

Reviewed - 12 September 2014

Yesterday we visited the Brantome Police Horses at St Pancrace in the Dordogne. It is in a beautiful setting and we were immediately welcomed and informed about the programme for the afternoon. 

After an informative talk and video, we were given a tour of the stables and introduced to all the horses individually and told the history of each horse, which was very moving and encouraged to give them some love and attention. Wonderful animals who are all obviously very happy and content to spend the rest of their retirement in such good care.

This was followed by a delicious cream tea, with a variety of homemade cakes, in a very pretty marquee. As an added bonus, that afternoon there was a planned visit by a Car Club with some very interesting vehicles that we could look over. We will be introducing our own Car Club from the Charente, for a day's outing next summer and can't wait to return again.

Visited - September 2014 


“Wonderful Family Run Horse Sanctuary”

Reviewed - 9 June 2014

Delicious cream tea and tour in an idyllic Dordogne setting. This wonderful family care for over 20 rescued horses, many former police horses, and run regular events to help fund it.
We had a lovely afternoon, and the strawberries and cream must be calorie-free, as it's for such a fantastic cause.


Reviews from facebook

 

We had a lovely time yesterday.  Well worth a visit.  So welcoming.

Suzanne Lowes


What a fabulous experience, seeing those magnificent horses, who have given years of service to the UK Police.  And a yummy cream tea to finish a lovely afternoon.  Thanks to everyone.

Winnie Davies


Absolutely fabulous afternoon today with Roland & family, always made to feel so welcome and not forgetting the fantastic horses, donkeys and ponies.  Excellent experience.

Lynda Davies


That was an interesting day out.  Thank you and good luck with your work!

Louise Dunn


Some of the guys we met today at Brantome Police Horses and Friends, what a fantastic job they do.


Thank you for a lovely afternoon, shared with the beautiful horses you have given a much deserves retirement to - long may it continue - along with the amazeballs scones too!

Annabelle Clarkson


Thank you for a wonderful afternoon.  We were both touched and inspired by the stories you shared with us.  We loved meeting the gentle giants and would recommend to anyone with a love of animals.  Tea and cakes were great.  Today has been the highlight of our holiday.  Many thanks.

Helen and Jeremy Groves


Thank you all for a wonderful afternoon yesterday - we all loved meeting you and the horses - what an amazing place you have and the cream tea was literally the icing on the cake!  We will definitely be visiting again.

Gary, Jo, Hannah and Amy Meekings (Moulin de la Barde Gites)


Hi Roland and Alison

We visited you today and had an enjoyable visit.  Hope to see you again soon.

Peter and Val Dawson


We had a wonderful day with the horses yesterday.  Seeing their stories and how courageous they have been.  Such a worthy cause.  I urge you all to support them.  Can't wait to visit again.

Julie Lancashire Clift


Susie and I went to the horse visit and cream tea event this afternoon and it was excellent.  Great cake and cups with saucers and a teapot!  But the stars are the horses and the people who give so generously to restore them.  I think we had a chat with every single horse and a fair selection of the people too.  If you are in the area, it is a must go event.

Robin Pratt


It was lovely to meet you last Sunday, thank you.

Carole Chrissy Parsons


It was really great to meet you all and the horses last week.  Carry on the great work and give Lewis a big hug from me.  Thank you.

Sarah Riley


Thank you so much to Brantome Police Horses, Roland, Alison, Debbie and Chris, for all your hard work.  Another fantastic evening and to Je Dis Jazz, who were outstanding.  A very enjoyable time was had by all!


What a super day we had with you all yesterday and our hats off to you, for the incredible work that you do.  We will be back!  Thank you.

Valerie and Harry